The student news site of Carroll Senior High School

Dragon Media

The student news site of Carroll Senior High School

Dragon Media

The student news site of Carroll Senior High School

Dragon Media

CSHS Celebrates Students Awarded with College Board Academic Honors

Awards recognize high-performing students and help them stand out to colleges

Last week, Carroll Senior High School celebrated the 42 students who earned academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Programs. These programs celebrate students’ hard work in high school and showcase their strong academic performance. The academic honors for rural area, Black, Indigenous, and/or Latino students are an opportunity for students to share their strong academic achievements with colleges and scholarship programs that are seeking to recruit diverse talent. 

The criteria for eligible students include:

  • GPA of 3.5 or higher.
  • PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10 assessment scores that are within the top 10% of assessment takers in each state for each award program or earned a score of 3 or higher on 2 or more AP Exams in 9th and 10th grade.
  • Attend school in a rural area or small town, or identify as African American/Black, Hispanic American/Latino, or Indigenous/Native.

“It’s becoming increasingly hard for students to be ‘seen’ during the college recruitment process. We’re exceptionally proud of the National Recognition Programs for celebrating students who are at times overlooked but have shown their outstanding academic abilities,” said Tarlin Ray, senior vice president of BigFuture® at College Board. “This is a benefit not only for students but also for colleges and universities committed to recruiting diverse and talented students.”     

In addition to these academic honors, 75 CSHS students were named as Commended by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation as well. 

A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC, which conducts the program, will be presented by the principal to this (these) scholastically talented senior(s).

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their

exceptional academic promise. Although the commended students will not continue in the 2024 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 students who entered the 2024 competition by taking the 2022 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for

academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

College Board National Recognition Program Awardees

Ameche Anwah, Andrew Doellinger, Andrew Boeck, Arjan Oberoi, Ava Burke, Beatriz Bierrenbach, Benjamin Wellington, Blake Bullard, Brandon Ruiz, Camila Vivanco-Reynaud, Carter Haskell, Clare Kelly, Coleman O’Brian, David Clubb, Dillan DeLugo, Ella Le, Emma Castillo, Enzo Lovera, Fernando Izquierdo, Francesco Schirripa, Gabriel Cunha, Hannah Vinas, Harrison Moore, Ivanna Aleman, Jackson Starr, Jacob Erwin, Javier Aguirre, Jeffrey Gibbens, Julia Da Silva, Julia Pino, Lara Dias Grilo, Leonardo Reyes, Noemie Houtekie-N’Da, Priela Ogunmola, Samantha Rietbroek, Samuel Iskander, Samuel Karidis-Schneider, Sofia Freeman, Taylor Starr, Tiwajopelo Iluyomade, Trevor Mays, Valerie Gonzalez

Commended Students in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program

Andrea Aguilar Villalobos, Aditya Ahluwalia, Awas Amin, Rowan Asgaonkar, Nicole Beres, Jameson Berlew, Arden Berry, Pallavi Bhardwaj, James Buehner, Elizabeth Burlingame, Braden Callaway, Deepa Chari, Cameron Chin, Isabella Costa, Moksha Davaloor, Jonathan Davis, Julia Dietrich, Miranda Downs, Kate Drap, Aubriena Driskill, Alexander Feng, Cole Findlay, Samuel Fuller, William Gardner, Shreeya Gogia, Brady Golomb, Alexandria Guinn, Carys Henry, Hanaa Hyder, Tarun Inampudi, Umar Iqbal, Samuel Iskander, Safiy Islam, Jaiden Mehta, Nitya Kamireddy, Jules Kessler, Joel Kwon, Sravyasri Lankipalle, Andy Li, Jonathan Li, Maia Yurrita, Kenndy Lyman, Amanda Mortensen, Ayaan Mushtaq, Nauman Mustafa, Arjun Nayana, Akhil Nelapolu, Nathan Nielsen, Coleman O’Brian, Jackson O’Brian, Zoe Ogletree, Somtochukwu Okafo, Dhyan Patel, Maia Patel, Mark Pothier, Carl Pulliam, Sumyak Raj, Annika Rao, Bhavna Reddy, Samantha Rietbroek, Caroline Schilsky, Sylvia Schwedler, Sahil Shah, Neel Shenoy, Jackson Starr, Jonathan Taylor, Ryan Van De Berghe, Vanessa Vazhappilly, Enrique Vezga, Carly Walter, Preslie Weilert, Andrea Yan, Vivek Yarlagedda, Philip Zautke, Yingqi Zhu

In early September, College Board notified CSHS of the 39 Semifinalists for the National Merit Scholarship Program. Read more about those honorees here.

More to Discover
About the Contributor
Staff, Dragon Sports Media

Dragon Sports Media is comprised of: 

Vaughn Adams Morgan Brown Cailyn Cashon Sarim Chaudhary Sva Cottingham Zachery Davidson Colton DeRaud Bailey Frazier Merren Grannell James Gray Nael Keloufi Matthew Klepikow Matthew Pendergrass Woodman Pollard Ben Randall Reagan Stovall Anthony Woroblec